Tig Nominated for The 2011 Barry Award

Melbourne International Comedy Festival

Each year, we recognise the best and brightest shows and comedians with a series of awards presented in the final week of the Festival.


Launched in 1998 as the ‘Stella Award’ and renamed in 2000 to honour the Festival’s founding patron Barry Humphries, the Barry Award recognises the most outstanding Festival show. The winner gets fame, glory, a snazzy trophy and an all-important cheque.

Past winners:
2010: Sammy J and Heath McIvor – Sammy J & Randy in Ricketts Lane
2009: The Pajama Men – Versus Vs Versus
2008: Joint Winners – Nina Conti – Complete and Utter Conti & Kristen Schaal – As you have probably never seen her before
2007: Daniel Kitson – it’s the fireworks talking
2006: Demetri Martin – Dr Earnest Parrot presents Demetri Martin
2005: The Drowsy Drivers – Keating! The Opera
2004: Maria Bamford
2003: Mike Wilmot
2002: Ross Noble
2001: Brian Munich – Brian Munich & Friends
2000: The Boosh – Arctic Boosh
1999: Sue Ann Post – G Strings and Jockstraps
1998: Linda Haggar and Fahey Younger – Miss Itchy’s Creme De Menthe Breakfast Show